Those We Lost – Film

We posted yesterday about some of the luminaries from the music world who died in 2016. Today we feature those from film.

Carrie Fisher in "Star Wars: The Force Awakens."

From The Force Awakens.

No matter how I go, I want it reported that I drowned in moonlight, strangled by my own bra.

-Carrie Fisher

NOTE: After I wrote this word came down that Carrie Fisher (born 1956) died following a massive heart attack while on a flight from England to Los Angeles. I’ve got to say that Carrie Fisher was one of my childhood idols (I wanted to be Princess Leia) and her message of girl power and overcoming personal demons to succeed is so inspiring to me and so many of the women (and men) I’ve interviewed as part of this project. I’m heartbroken that her wit won’t be a part of our world going forward – and I’m thankful that she was here to share her talents with us.

leiasmile

I don’t want my life to imitate art, I want my life to be art.

January – Alan Rickman (born 1946)

Poof

Talent is an accident of genes – and a responsibility.

You’ll always be Severus to me.

February – Amelia Bence (born 1914)

Amelia Bence, c. 1945

Amelia Bence, c. 1945

The Argentinian actress was known as one of her country’s “divas” (in a good way) in what was known as “The Golden Age of Argentinian Cinema.”

I think I caught my dream. I wanted to be an actress and I was. And this dream will never end … I am of a generation of actresses and actors who made themselves in an adventure of cinema and theater, that dreamt and created poets, madmen and bohemians.

-From her 2011 memoir, with Raúl Etchelet

March -Nancy Reagan (born 1921)

1981 Inaugural Parade. White House Photographic Office.

1981 Inaugural Parade. White House Photographic Office.

A woman is like a tea bag, you can not tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water.

April – Doris Roberts (born 1925)

Doris Roberts with Joan Rivers on the set "Rabbit Test," 1978.

Doris Roberts with Joan Rivers on the set “Rabbit Test,” 1978.

I’m learning something all the time. That’s the way I want it to go, and that’s the way I’ll go until I am no longer on this planet.

May – Rita Renoir (born 1934)


The actress was also one of the most famous strip-tease artists of the Crazy Horse salon. Here, she performs one of her acts in the film “Mondo di Notte” (1960).

June -Theresa Saldana (born 1954)

Teresa Saldana in "Victims for Victims: The Theresa Saldana Story."

Teresa Saldana in “Victims for Victims: The Theresa Saldana Story.”

Saldana survived a murder attempt by a stalker in 1982, and founded the organization “Victims for Victims.”

People were wary about my playing myself. They were waiting to see if I would flip out, get hysterical and have to be taken to the funny farm. I don’t think you’re ever the same again. I’m more cautious. I have security. I live a private life. I have an unlisted number. I don’t think a victim is ever the same after an attack like that.

-Interview with the Washington Post

July – Garry Marshall (born 1934)

Garry Marshall and Marlon Thomas in a publicity still from "That Girl," ABC Television,

Garry Marshall and Marlon Thomas in a publicity still from “That Girl,” ABC Television,

I started as a journalist actually. I graduated from Northwestern Medill School of Journalism and with my degree discovered, once out in the real world, I wasn’t very good at it. And I wasn’t really that good at being a musician. And then I tried being a standup. I was an actor. I was a photographer. I tried everything. Nothing was particularly working for me, but then, as a musician, I wrote jokes for comics. And they started to buy my jokes, and that’s where I thought maybe that might work.

-Interview with Terry Gross, Fresh Air

August – Kenny Baker (born 1934)

Kenny Baker as R2-D2

Kenny Baker as R2-D2

They act as though I’m the star, but it’s R2 who is the real star – I just happen to be the one bringing him to life.

-Interview with the Guardian

September – The Lady Chablis (born 1957)

636089558306755213-xxx-do1g3dcov21v2-10p3x22l

Transgender actress The lady Chablis (born Brenda Day Knox) with John Cusack in “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil.”

I said, ‘Ooooo, Chablis. That’s nice. I like that name.’ And Mama said, ‘Then take it, baby. Just call yourself Chablis from now on.’ So ever since then, I’ve been Chablis.

From “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, John Berendt

October – Alina María “Cachita” Hernandez (born 1970)

cdn3-uvnimg-com

Cachita, also known as Alina Maria Hernandez, as seen on Univision.

Cachita is a beloved character. I revealed my identity (as a transgender actress), my way of thinking and my sexuality because she is a comic character. But I do believe that everyone has the right as a human being to reserve his or her intimate life.

-vivalariviera.com

November – Florence Henderson (born 1934)

landscape-1480059318-florence-henderson-the-brady-bunch

Getty Images

I think one of the reasons why the show [has] never been off the air in this country and it’s in over 122 countries around the world … was our chemistry. We all just kind of loved each other.

-Good Houskeeping

December – Zsa Zsa Gabor (born 1917)

zsa_zsa_gabor

When in trouble, take a bath and wash your hair.

#restinpeace

Tomorrow we’ll remember those from the world of fashion and art.

Leave a Reply

