Those We Lost – Music

I’m not sure about you, but 2016 seemed especially brutal to me in terms of really amazing people who died over the year. Here are some from the music world who hit us especially hard.

We’ll do a post tomorrow about those from the movie world, and Thursday about the fashion and art worlds.

January – David Bowie (born 1947)

You know, I’ll be free
Just like that bluebird
Now, ain’t that just like me?

February – Alba Solis (born 1927)

I like tangos that say something; I like what excites me. If one does not get excited, there is nothing.

March – Phife Dawg (born 1970)

To my Tribe that flows in layers
Right now, Phife is a poem-sayer.

April – Prince (born 1958)

Nothing compares to you.

May – Candye Kane (born 1961)

By keeping the same name, by being honest and candid about my past, I’ve been marginalized and overlooked by certain segments of the blues community and music community. But that’s OK, because by being honest, I’ve gained the acceptance and love and support of the queer community, and the fat girl community, and the rockabilly community. And I’m probably one of the only blues artists who has played The Hooker’s Ball in San Francisco.

-Interview with Chicago Blues Guide

June – Christina Grimmie (born 1994)

Confidence is not ‘they will like me’. Confidence instead is ‘I’ll be fine if they don’t’.

July – Alan Vega (born 1938)

Baby, baby, baby he’s a blazin’ away
Like the stars, stars, stars in the universe.

August – Ruby Winters (born 1942)

Just reach out your hand and there I’ll be.

September – Jean Shepard (born 1933)

You told me that you’re gonna pick you’re gonna be a star
I’m tired of playin’ second fiddle to an old guitar

October – Joan Marie Johnson (born 1944)

When Ellie and Jeff first played ‘Chapel’ for us (the Dixie Cups), we looked at each other, like, ‘You really want us to sing that like that?’ They said, ‘Well, how do you want to sing it?’ So I said, ‘Give us a minute.’ So we went in the corner and started singing. We walked back to them and when we sang it the way it was recorded, they were just, ‘Wow! That was awesome.’

-Interview with Rolling Stone

November – Leonard Cohen (born 1934)

And even though it all went wrong
I’ll stand before the lord of song
With nothing on my tongue but hallelujah

December – George Michael (born 1963)

Think I’m gonna get myself happy.
I think there’s something you should know.
I think it’s time I told you so.
There’s something deep inside of me.
There’s someone else I’ve got to be.

#restinpeace

Leave a Reply

