Happy Anniversary

tumblr_nagx9wTG4g1rouwdqo1_500

So for those of you who don’t know, one of the producers of the film and I are married. It was über romantic. He proposed one night while we were sitting in bed together and I didn’t answer for like 3 days (spoiler alert: I said yes). Then we scooted off to Las Vegas for a brief overnight on the way to my nephew’s high school graduation. Our chauffeur, who took us to get the license and to the wedding chapel, had stigmata (seriously). Some kids stole our tickets to Cirque du Soleil (they let us in anyway). We have no photos to commemorate the event.

My sister later said:

but if you told us about it we would have come.

I didn’t have the heart to tell her that was the point. It was a commitment we made to each other. We didn’t need to have a ginormous wedding. Or even a semi-small wedding. The two of us (and our stigmata-plagued driver) were just fine.

Not my wedding dress. Via pinterest

Not my wedding dress. Via Pinterest

So perhaps it comes as no surprise that most years we completely forget that June 2nd is our anniversary. We’ll be out to dinner and say halfway through,

Wait, it’s our anniversary.

And then we’ll get a really nice dessert to celebrate.

The first thing that came up on a Google images search for "nice dessert." May not accurately reflect our nice dessert.

The first thing that came up on a Google images search for “nice dessert.” May not accurately reflect our nice dessert.

Or we’ll be shopping (one year it was for bikes) and say,

Hey, it’s June 2nd – this should be our anniversary gift to each other.

Because this year I’m doing this crowdfunding, I’m paying more attention to the calendar than I normally do this time of year. So I saw “home’s birthday” (that’s how I have it calendared) pop up when I was checking for upcoming dates and events. Day two of the campaign.

Via Pinterest

Via Pinterest

I still don’t know what we’re going to do tonight. I don’t think we’re buying any bikes, but you never know.

And now I’m not going to go begging for gifts or anything (that would kind of cheapen the point of this little tale), but I’m not going to stop you if you want to check out the campaign.

Leave a Reply

