Who Am I?

Preston Duncan DragonflyOne of our first photographs posted on the blog.

Ok, so that’s a pretty weird question, I realize.

But I’m doing a blogging challenge/workshop this month with WordPress and our first assignment is to establish who we are and why we’re blogging.

Or in the case of an already-established blog to revisit our mission.

So here goes.

-1

Artist Jordan Rathus, who is featured in the film “Pin Up! The Movie.” From her photo series 12 Months of December.

This blog was initially designed as a place where I can keep my production notes about the film process (spoiler alert: I’m probably going to get back to a lot of that introspective navel-gazing this month). I work at a university as a professor and am expected to do research. My research, in part, is creative work, like my film on pin up culture. But I also use myself as a case study to talk about the role of the filmmaker in the documentary process.

In my past projects I’ve keep a series of little notebooks with my scribbles inside. But the problem is as I get tired or even just as I attempt to write quickly, I find that when I go back later, I can’t really read my thoughts. Yes, my handwriting is that bad.

Still from the film.

Still from the film.

So for this project I started a blog. For me. So I could read my stupid notes when the time came to investigate my role as a creative person.

But the weird thing is that people started following it. And as that happened I found that I began adjusting how I wrote in some of the posts. Less first person and more thinking about public presentation. And then I did a Kickstarter or two for the project and had a film festival premiere and the marketing v. introspection line kind of got erased. And marketing won.

alice_in_wonderland_2010_5I fall down rabbit holes a lot.

My goal for this WordPress blogging class is to not eliminate the marketing stuff, but rather to try and better return to the introspective “here’s what I’m thinking while making a film” approach. It may be slightly challenging because there IS an audience now. But perhaps figuring out how to integrate the marketing needs with the blog’s original goal could be a good one. And something that could spawn even more academic research about my process.

Oh, and blogging classmates? Be prepared for lots of images. Because I do that sort of thing too in my blogging.

 

Leave a Reply

