Meet the Musicians Part 10: CHRIS ZABRISKIE

For some reason it seems we’re drawn to musicians from the Pacific Northwest of the United States. Unlike our other two groups with Portland, Oregon, links, Chris Zabriskie comes from Olympia, Washington.

The section of the film where I was looking for music to fit.

The section of the film where I was looking for music to fit.

His music is being used in another one of my sections where I needed more a traditional soundtrack approach. I’m needed a piece (or two) with some subtle emotion, switching from melancholy or sad to uplifting.

See notes before about royalty free soundtrack-style music.

My reaction to most royalty-free music. Via Tumblr.

My reaction to most royalty-free music. Via Tumblr.

When I turned to the Free Music Archive, based on my other experiences, I was cautiously optimistic. For good reason.

Chris does ambient music now (his start was in noise rock), and is a big supporter of freeing music from record company entanglements via file sharing and other means. I’m using two of his songs in the film, Prelude No. 21 and Prelude No. 23, both from the album not surprisingly called Preludes. The tone is right – and because the songs are part of a larger whole, the offer the right sort of natural transition from sadness to joy.

Chris Zabriskie "Preludes"

Chris Zabriskie “Preludes”

I know this is a variation on a theme, but just because Chris is an advocate for non-traditional distribution means, it doesn’t mean that he shouldn’t be paid for his work. Hence my Kickstarter – to get him paid for his work just like those who embrace the traditional distribution sources.

#BeABacker

Leave a Reply

