Meet the Musicians Part 5: DEVIN “GATSBY” JAMES AND JCA BEATS PRODUCTIONS

There’s something to be said for happenstance.

Earlier this summer, Delicious Ruckus, one of the pin ups in the film, was selected to be part of a music video called Pin Up 4 (Gatsby Be Goode). It was put together by the cross-country hip hop collective: Devin “Gatsby” James (Portland, Oregon) and Barry Quigley and Justin Alexander (Chicagoland), aka JCA Beats Productions.

I shared the video on our Facebook page, and one thing led to another. They asked if they could be involved in the project.

As it turns out, I was looking for a very specific piece of music. I had a section of the film where the calendar legacy of the pin up was being discussed. I wanted to use a version of Calendar Girl (the old Neil Sedaka song).

But I didn’t want the original version. I wanted the Petula Clark one. Sung in French.

But licensing. Oh, the licensing. Crazy expensive and another one of those things where I wasn’t sure I could make a legitimate fair use argument. It was commentary, and a cultural critique, but there is a bit of grey area there because the music was also being used for synch sound. I was cutting shots together using the music beat as a driving force.

I told the guys my problem. And they came up with a solution. A new song. Calendar Girls.

Al Moore calendar: the pin up/calendar girl connection.

Al Moore calendar: the pin up/calendar girl connection.

Devin first laid down some basic tracks. Barry and Justin put together some music. We had a verse and chorus – enough for my needs.

But then Devin got so excited that he wrote an entire song. And I did a music video for them which we’ll be debuting tomorrow. It’s called Calendar Girls (Pin Up 5) and features stuff from the film – plus some other bonus footage. There’s a preview here. I’ll do a post with the full video when it drops tomorrow.

This is going to sound like a familiar refrain – but they did it all for free. Nada. Nothing. They didn’t ask me to do a music video – I just volunteered because I was so happy with what they created. Well that and I felt a bit guilty about my inability to pay them.

Devin’s trying to make it as a rapper. Justin and Barry are trying to make a splash as a production company. They loved the project and hoped it would work for them creatively.

And I’d like for them to be treated like the legitimate artists that they are.

#BeABacker

Leave a Reply

