Yes, It’s Been Awhile

Bargaining.

That’s really what writing comes down to.

If I write three paragraphs, I can go downstairs and get [fill in the blank].

Going out to lunch with Mitzi is a part of the writing process.

I know I’m not alone in this. It’s a time-honored practice in the writing profession. A rationalization for not getting the work done that one is supposed to get done.

Well, Monday was devoted to my OTHER project.

I should really learn how to use that chignon-thingee I bought for my hair.

The weird thing is, I’m not typically a procrastination-style of writer. Daily television news drummed that out of me. I sat down. I wrote. I made my deadline. End of story.

Perhaps the problem is that this deadline is self-imposed?

My deadline to have a rough script done is the end of the week. No, the end of the month. No, before the July 4th weekend.

It’s a type of floundering. Well, not floundering, exactly, but perhaps certainly a highly-honed version of procrastination. I know what I need to do. But other things distract. Demand my attention. Interrupt the process once I do starting producing scenes, story arcs, content.

Screen Shot 2014-06-27 at 9.18.23 AM

And yet I still find other distractions to distract me from the distractions. External, of course.

Seriously? They really need to be doing construction today??????

Did the cat food always smell this bad?????????????

Even within the writing, I distract myself. I start working on one aspect of the story and flit over to another. I think I’m going to write in a specific way (“I’ll do each individual’s story line”) and then shift that as one story line begins to challenge me (“No! It’s better if I go through interview by interview and organize the quotes according to subject”). I have the story in my head, but I struggle to articulate it on the page.

I saw THAT through the lens? Damn.

5 Mitzi Hands

And more than anything, I want to start the actual editing.

 

Leave a Reply

